The 72nd edition of the Omloop van het Houtland started and finished in Lichtervelde. The course consisted of one 113.7 kilometres loop followed by eight 10.3 kilometres local laps. After a hectic start, several groups tried to go clear, but only Mandrysch and Rudland were allowed to stay at the front. It didn’t last long however, as the peloton split into several groups and the first group, with among others Armée, De Bie, Debusschere, De Clercq, Greipel and Vanendert, quickly caught the two riders at the front. The 41 riders at the front were still 40’’ ahead of the second peloton when they crossed the finish line for the first time, but the race was back together with 51 kilometres remaining. Devriendt, Van Goethem and Wynants went clear with 35 kilometres to go and they collaborated efficiently to keep their gap around 40”. In the finale, the peloton was unable to reel them in and Tom Devriendt proved to be the fastest in the sprint. Wynants and Van Goethem respectively finished in second and third place.  André Greipel crossed the line in fourth position.