The 111th edition of Paris-Tours started in Brou this morning. The course was 234.5 kilometres long and ended in the streets of Tours. This year’s profile was rather flat, but the finale included two short climbs: the Côte de Beau Soleil and the Côte de l’Epan. Five riders went on the attack right after the start:  Combaud, Goolaerts, Naesen, Poulhiès and Van Goethem and their advantage quickly reached 4’30’’. The peloton picked up the pace in the last 100 kilometres and started to close the gap to the front group. Naesen and Van Goethem left their fellow escapees behind with 28 kilometres to go, but everything came back together eighteen kilometres further. Matteo Trentin attacked on each of the two last climbs and the Italian went clear with Søren Kragh Andersen and Niki Terpstra. Jasper De Buyst and André Greipel were part of a large chasing group but the three riders in front managed to keep their 10’’ advantage until the finish line. Trentin ultimately sprinted to the victory ahead of Andersen and Terpstra. André Greipel won the sprint in the chasing group and finished in fourth place.