The 58th edition of the GP de Wallonie takes place on Wednesday. Just like the previous years, the race will start in Chaudfontaine and will then take the direction of the Citadel of Namur, at the top of which the finish line will be situated. The first climb of the challenging 212.5 kilometres course, the Côte de Saint Hubert, comes only thirty kilometres into the race and is almost immediately followed by the Côte de Saint-Remacle and the Côte de Werbomont. The peloton will then roll onto an undulating course in the Condroz region. The riders will face the Côte d’Ermeton with45 kilometers to go, and a few kilometers further the Côte de Lustin (3.5 kilometres at 4%, with some parts up to 10%) and the Tienne aux Pierres (3.2 kilometres at 5.2%). The last climb is of course the Côte de la Citadelle in Namur, which is two kilometres long and averages 6%.

 Lotto Soudal will try to claim a third victory in a row in the GP de Wallonie. Jens Debusschere and Tony Gallopin indeed won the race in 2015 and 2016 respectively.  The Belgian team will once again come to the start in Chaudfontaine with a strong line-up. Tiesj Benoot, Tony Gallopin, Jelle Vanendert and Tim Wellens are from back Canada, Bart De Clercq the Vuelta and Nikolas Maes often finished in the top ten last week in the Tour of Britain. Trainees Emiel Planckaert and Mathias Van Gompel also feature Lotto Soudal’s line-up.  A quick look at the start list shows how strong the opposition will be, with among others riders such as Jan Bakelants, Gianluca Brambilla and Dylan Teuns.

 Line-up Lotto Soudal: Tiesj Benoot, Bart De Clercq, Tony Gallopin, Nikolas Maes, Emiel Planckaert, Jelle Vanendert, Mathias Van Gompel and Tim Wellens.

Sports director: Marc Wauters