The Clásica San Sebastián was scheduled today. Tony Gallopin got beaten by Michal Kwiatkowski at the finish.

The Clásica San Sebastián was 231 kilometres long and eight climbs lay on the course. Seven riders established a break in the beginning of the race. They got just over five minutes advantage. Lotto Soudal rider Rémy Mertz was one of the riders controlling the gap. With 56 kilometres to go, on the second ascent of Jaizkibel, all escapees had been caught. About twenty kilometres further, on the Arkale, a small group with Jelle Vanendert created a gap. Gianni Moscon attacked from that group. He was reeled in on Murgil Tontorra, with top at seven kilometres from the finish, after Tosh Van der Sande had been pulling in the reduced bunch. Next, Jelle Vanendert accelerated. He couldn’t get a sufficient lead and was caught, but then teammate Tony Gallopin attacked. Together with Mikel Landa he rode away from the small bunch. Bauke Mollema joined them just before the top. In the descent first Michal Kwiatkowski and then Tom Dumoulin closed the gap. These five riders sprinted for victory. Gallopin started the sprint, but Kwiatkowski passed him by. 38 seconds later Tiesj Benoot got ninth. Jelle Vanendert finished in the same group, as fifteenth.

Tony Gallopin: “The team did an excellent job today. Tiesj, Jelle and I were in a good position when we got at the foot of the last climb. My legs felt very good. When Landa attacked I followed. I know the climb and I knew the last three hundred metres would be less steep, so I joined his attack. Unfortunately Landa’s teammate Kwiatkowski was riding behind us, so he didn’t cooperate with Mollema and me. When Dumoulin closed the gap as well, I feared that he would cooperate with Mollema.”

“After Kwiatkowski had come back in the descent, I focussed on the sprint. I started the sprint early, maybe too early. But Kwiatkowski was the fastest, so I can accept it. Although it is disappointing to finish second in this race for the second year in a row.”

“The team was very strong today. We had five riders at the front in the finale and the others had done their job beforehand, like Rémy Mertz who had pulled in the bunch. Lars Bak and Tosh Van der Sande made sure we could start the last climb in a good position. It’s very nice this way. My next race will be the BinckBank Tour (7 till 13 August). I feel strong after the Tour and hope to keep it this way for a while.”

The Tour de Pologne began today with a short stage of 130 kilometres with start and finish in Kraków. The break of the day consisted of four riders. Keizer and Paterski remained in front the longest. A compact bunch entered the local circuit of four kilometres that had to be covered three times. Nobody could avoid a sprint. Peter Sagan conquered the stage win, ahead of Caleb Ewan and Danny van Poppel. Jens Debusschere finished tenth.