Thomas De Gendt was part of a five-man breakaway on the thirteenth stage of La Vuelta. Other than the previous days, it didn’t take long for the break to be established. De Gendt was accompanied by Arnaud Courteille, Alessandro De Marchi, Alexis Gougeard and Davide Villella. Vilella only wanted to take the KOM points atop of the third category climb after less than thirty kilometres to reinforce his lead in the KOM classification, then he waited for the peloton.

The four leaders never got more than five minutes advantage, because there were enough teams keen on having a sprint finish. With 25 kilometres to go, De Gendt and De Marchi left their two companions behind. At that moment they had about one and a half minutes advantage left. De Gendt had to let go of De Marchi with fourteen kilometres to go, while De Marchi was caught seven kilometres further. Adam Hansen accelerated in the last kilometres, which were slightly uphill, but he didn’t succeed in creating a gap. Matteo Trentin won the stage, ahead of Gianni Moscon and Søren Kragh Andersen. De Gendt was awarded the prize for most combative rider.