Tim Wellens won in great fashion the 58th edition of the GP de Wallonie.  Wellens, Gallopin, Benoot and Maes were part of a 21 riders echelon which opened 40 kilometres from the finish and the group was then reduced to eight riders. Wellens accelerated with sixteen kilometres to go and no one of his fellow escapees seemed able to respond. In the finale, he extended his lead over one minute and secured the win. This is the sixth victory this season for the 26 year old Belgian. Tony Gallopin finished second  one minute later, Tiesj Benoot  fourth, Jelle Vanendert seventh and Bjorg Lambrecht ninth.

The riders left Chaudfontaine at twelve o’clock for a ride through Wallonia. Edward Planckaert, Cordeel, Devriendt, Delfosse, Tasset, Leveau and Ruijgh established the day’s breakaway after fifteen kilometres of racing, and they were granted a maximum advantage of 4’15”. Lotto Soudal trainees Mathias Van Gompel and Emiel Planckaert were among those who kept the front group under control. AG2R came to the front with 40 kilometres remaining and opened echelons in the peloton, which led to the creation of a 21 riders front group, which included Tim Wellens,Tony Gallopin, Tiesj Benoot and Nikolas Maes. After Benoot and Teuns tried to go clear, it was Wellens and Bakelants’s turn to make a move, but six other riders jumped on their wheel. Tim Wellens saw an opportunity with sixteen kilometres to go and attacked from the last position in the group. From that moment onwards, the Belgian never stopped increasing his lead and he was able to enjoy his triumph in the last kilometres on the Citadel in Namur. Wellens will come to the World Championships in Norway in brilliant form.

Tim Wellens: “I already felt great in the two World tour races in Canada, and I’m happy that I was able to show my good form and to translate it into a good result. We came here with three leaders, but I said this morning that I wanted to have a go for the victory. I want to thank my team mates for all the work they did today. Tiesj and Tony were in a perfect position in the chasing group, the trainees worked hard in the early part of the race and Nikolas Maes gave it all in the echelon to build a large gap. Our objective was to ride hard in the Côte de Lustin in order to come to the next climb with a much smaller group. The last sixteen kilometres felt like a time trial, I immediately tried to open a gap, and then I made sure it remained stable. Sports director Marc Wauters told me that I could enjoy the last three kilometres and that the victory was sealed. I trained really hard for this period, with an eye on the World Championships and I hope I’ll be able to show the same kind of condition in the following weeks. ”

Some less good news from Jelle Wallays. The Belgian hit the deck during the Vuelta and further examinations showed a fracture of the scafoid in his right hand, as well as two broken ribs, the sixth and the seventh, on his right side. This means that Wallays will stay off the bike for a few weeks and possibly for the rest of the season.

Tim Wellens a remporté la 58ème édition du GP de la Wallonie. A plus de 40 kilomètres de l’arrivée, Wellens faisait partie d’une première bordure de vingt et un coureurs avec entre autres Gallopin, Maes et Benoot.  Ensuite, une autre sélection s’est effectuée et un groupe de tête de 8 coureurs s’est formé. A seize kilomètres de l’arrivée, Wellens a démarré à grande vitesse et aucun de ses compagnons n’a pas pu suivre. Dans le final, il a pu augmenter son avance à plus d’une minute de façon que sa victoire n’a jamais été en danger. Pour le Belge de 26 ans, il s’agit de sa cinquième victoire de la saison.

 

 

A midi, les coureurs ont pris le départ à Chaudfontaine pour une course à travers la Wallonie. Après quinze kilomètres, un groupe de tête de sept coureurs s’est formé avec entre autres Edward Planckaert, Cordeel, Devriendt, Delfosse, Tasset, Leveau et Ruijgh. L’avance maximum des leaders était de 4’15 mais entre autres Lotto Soudal avec les stagiaires Emiel Planckaert et Mathias Van Gompel ont maintenu le contrôle. A 40 kilomètres de l’arrivée, AG2R a pris l’initiative de former une bordure et un peu plus tard, un groupe de tête de 21 coureurs s’est formé avec Tim Wellens, Tony Gallopin, Nikolas Maes et Tiesj Benoot de l’équipe Lotto Soudal. Après la tentative d’échappée de Tiesj Benoot et Dylan Teun, Tim Wellens et Jan Bakelants ont tenté leur chance mais six autres coureurs ont pu les reprendre. A seize kilomètres de l’arrivée, c’était l’heure de Tim Wellens. De la dernière position, il est parti en solitaire du groupe de tête et a rapidement augmenté son avance. Les derniers kilomètres dans la Citadelle de Namur étaient un vrai triomphe pour le Belge qui peut partir vers le Championnat du Monde en excellente condition.

 

Tim Wellens: « Je me sentais déjà très bien lors des épreuves au Canada. Je suis content d’avoir pu confirmer cela ici et d’avoir montré ma bonne forme. Nous avions trois leaders au départ, mais j’avais déjà annoncé avant la course que je voulais tenter ma chance. Je veux remercier mes équipiers pour tous les efforts livrés aujourd’hui. Notre prestation collective était superbe. Tiesj et Tony ont parfaitement bloqué dans le groupe de poursuivants, les stagiaires ont travaillé dur afin de garder l’échappée sous contrôle et Nikolas Maes a tout donné dans les bordures afin de creuser l’écart. Nous voulions faire la différence dans la Côte de Lustin avec l’équipe afin de franchir les difficultés suivantes dans un petit groupe. Dans les seize derniers kilomètres, j’ai effectué un contre-la-montre. J’ai directement tenté de creuser un écart. A trois kilomètres de l’arrivée, le directeur sportif Marc Wauters m’a dit que la victoire était dans la poche et j’ai profité dans l’ascension de la Citadelle de Namur. Je me suis entrainé dur en vue de cette période et je me rends avec de très bonnes sensations au championnat du monde et j’espère pouvoir démontrer ma bonne forme en décrochant encore quelques bons résultats. »